What Are Chakras?

We are conditioned at a young age to believe that something is real only if it can be seen, heard, touched, smelled, or tasted. What if I said that the physical body is not the only body that exists? There is an energy body that contains chakras located within us. While chakras are not seen with the naked eye, we can feel them via feelings and emotions that exist within.

The word chakra is derived from the Sanskrit word “cakra”, meaning “wheel.” It was first mentioned in the Vedas, ancient Hindu texts, that date to around 1,500 BCE. Throughout history, many cultures have been cognizant of and documented that these energy centers or the chakra system exists. All living things have a chakra system – a living system of energy vortexes that exist inside us and connects and supports our physical and energetic bodies. They take in surrounding energy and draw it inside the auric and physical body.

The foundation of the chakra system consists of seven major chakras within the body. Starting from the bottom, the first chakra is the root chakra, which is located at the base of the spine and it is the foundation for the remaining six. The second chakra is the sacral chakra, and it is located just below the naval. The third chakra is the solar plexus chakra, and it is located above the naval but below the heart. The fourth chakra is the heart chakra, and it is located at the heart. The fifth chakra is the throat chakra, located at the center of the neck. The sixth chakra is the third-eye chakra, and it is located between the eyebrows. The final chakra is the crown chakra located at the top of the head.

The upper three (chakras 5 through 7) are considered the spiritual chakras. The spiritual chakras focus on our connection to the Divine, as well as our Higher Self – that version of ourselves that is tapped into our purest expression of love, wisdom, and power. The lower three chakras (1 through 3) are considered the physical chakras. They ground us as human beings on Earth. Both the spiritual and physical chakras are connected in the center through the heart chakra. Each chakra serves a purpose, and they are all interconnected.

When we are aware of the energy within our chakras, we can connect to ourselves more fully and learn how to heal ourselves on all levels, which results in true holistic healing. Learning about the 7 chakras, helps us to become more in tune with the natural energy cycles of our bodies. Through this knowledge, it is possible to create a harmonious balance between the chakras to stay mentally, emotionally, and physically healthy.


  • Mary Caldeira

    Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and
    i own a similar one and i was just wondering if
    you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance
    is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *